Knowledge base
London Chamber
Knowledge base
CCC Certification

 About CCC MARK Certification

CCC Certificate In 2002, China introduced a series of mandatory standards known as CCC Certificate for its own products as well as the import of products from other countries. According to these laws, goods and products will have the right to participate in China's domestic markets and be allowed to enter the country only by having this certificate.


This certificate, which is also referred to as 3C, is basically the abbreviation of China Compulsory Certification, which means "China Compulsory Certification" and despite important and significant differences, it is considered similar to the CE certificate in the European region.

Known formally as the China Compulsory Certification it also goes by the name 3C Certification, CCC Mark, .or even just CCC





Implemented on May 1, 2002 and fully effective on August 1, 2003 (OBS: the deadline was initially May 1, 2003 and extended to August 1, 2003), the CCC Mark- China Compulsory Certification mark (is required for a wide range of manufactured products before being exported to or sold in the Peoples Republic of China market.


China has integrated its two compulsory inspection systems, one to check contents of products for import and export, and the other for quality control, into a single procedure as part of its commitment for entry into the World Trade Organization. Since May 1, 2002, two symbols used by the two systems, namely “CCIB” (Safety Mark, introduced in 1989 and required for products in 47 product categories) and “CCEE” (also known as “Great Wall” Mark, for electrical commodities in 7 product categories), have be unified and replaced by the symbol “CCC” (China Compulsory Certificate).


The Importance of CCC Certification

In order to import or sell a host of products in China, companies need to demonstrate that they have obtained the CCC Mark. This applies to goods that are manufactured in China as well.

Currently there are 20 product groups that fall under the mandate, including electrical wires, IT equipment, motor vehicles and automotive components, household electrical appliances, and much more.


Types of marks required in the CCC certificate

All the products mentioned in the above list must have the following 4 standard marks in order to issue the CCC certificate for them and get the license to export to China:

1. Safety mark (CCC (+S

2. Electromagnetic compatibility mark (CCC (+ EMC

3. Electromagnetic compatibility and safety mark (CCC (+S&E

4. Fire sign (CCC (+ F


Similar in some respects to steps to obtain CE Marking, the CCC Certification process breaks down as follows:

Application for the CCC Mark

Testing by an accredited lab in China

Factory inspection by Chinese inspectors

Evaluation of inspections

Obtaining the CCC Mark Certification


Regular post-certification inspections


Companies that cannot show the CCC Mark on their products may see importation delays by Chinese customs or other penalties. From a branding perspective compliance to the standard is also a value-added activity.



According to Chinese laws and Regulation for Compulsory Product Certification, the Compulsory Product Certification System is applied to products related to human life and health, animals, plants, environmental protection and national security. Any product covered by the Catalogue should acquire the CCC mark before it can be marketed, imported or used for any commercial purposes in China.


Updated on: 2023/12/27